Canada Davis Cup Team

Captain: Martin Laurendeau
ITF Ranking: 27
First Year: 1913
Best Finish: SF

Canada competed in its first Davis Cup in 1913. The team won its first tie, played in June at the Queen's Club, London over South Africa by a score of 4–1. The team consisted of just two players, Robert Powell and Bernard Schwengers. Canada then in July easily defeated Belgium in the semi-finals 4–0. In the playoff final however, played a week later, they lost all three matches to the Americans in straight sets. (The Americans went on to defeat Great Britain in the challenge round, to win the competition.)
Canada did not play a World Group tie from 1921 until 1991, when the team of Grant Connell, Glenn Michibata, Andrew Sznajder, and Martin Wostenholme, with team captain Pierre Lamarche, lost 1–4 away to Spain. The following year, again in the World Group first round, Canada came closer to advancing, going down 2–3 at home to Sweden despite taking a first-day 2–0 lead. The tie was highlighted by a surprise singles win of rookie Daniel Nestor over superstar Stefan Edberg. Nestor could not repeat the magic, however, losing in the deciding rubber match in 5 sets to Magnus Gustafsson.
2004 saw Canada, in its final World Group appearance to date, fall away to the Netherlands 1–4. Team members then were Simon Larose, Frank Dancevic, Frédéric Niemeyer, and Daniel Nestor as a star doubles specialist.

Milos Raonic
Frank Dancevic
Philip Bester
Daniel Nestor
Peter Polansky
Vasek Pospisil