Austria Davis Cup Team

Captain: Gilbert Schaller
ITF Ranking: 15
First Year: 1906
Best finish: SF (1990)

Austria competed in its first Davis Cup in 1905. The Austrian team achieved their best Davis Cup results in 1990, when they were at the brink of reaching the finals, playing the semifinals against the USA in Vienna with a team consisting of Thomas Muster, Horst Skoff and Alex Antonitsch. After Muster had won his singles against Michael Chang and Andre Agassi, the standing was 2:2 in matches and 2:2 in sets (after a 2:0 lead for Austria in the final single between Skoff and Chang), when the final, decisive set was postponed by a day due to darkness on Sep 23, 1990. This final set was won by Chang, so Austria lost the final match in 2:3 sets and the semifinals by a score of 2:3 matches.

Jurgen Melzer
Martin Fischer
Andreas Haider-Maurer
Alexander Peya
Stefan Koubek
Oliver Marach